Aye, Ca rumba, Lucy!

Okay, I don’t know exactly how to spell it but I know how it sounds as I have heard Ricky say it to Lucy at least a million times! My last blog was about positive thoughts and choosing to think lovely thoughts.

My dad died a few years ago and we built a house with two master bedrooms so my mom could come and live with us. We have moved her seven times. She lived here a couple of years, didn’t like it, moved back to her home town to a retirement village, didn’t like it, and two weeks ago moved back in with us. Talk about taking my thoughts captive. I am practicing it more than ever.

For instance: I get up two hours before I have to start getting ready for work so I can have an hour for my daily devotion, an hour immediately following to have coffee with my mom and my husband, then time to get ready. I should ignore my phone until I am ready for work but I haven’t mastered that yet (my next self improvement project) so I am often running out the door with my purse, my glasses, laptop in case only for my sweet little mom to say, “Jody, do you have time to help me with the VCR and look at these insurance papers”?

Oh my goodness – such guilt! The old me would let it ruin my day with either guilt or anger. The new me told myself she is independent enough that she hates to ask me to help her and she knows how busy I am so just when is a good time? Now, while we are having coffee, I say, “Mom, is there anything I can help you with or do for you before I get ready”? She feels honored and I am not caught unprepared! Life is good!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jodygrubbs.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/aye-ca-rumba-lucy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

