“Where the mind goes, the man follows”

“Whether you think you can or think you can’t, either way, you are right.” 

I totally believe our thoughts are extremely powerful.  My life completely and totally changed the day I learned that what I “feel” and what I know to be true are not always the same. Thoughts come into our minds at an astonishing rate every day all day long. We process thousands of words each day. Where are those words coming from? Some come from outside sources but mostly from our own thoughts.

I have a mild obsessive compulsive disorder and can really obsess about things that nag at my brain.  For much of my life, I would wake with a feeling of dread and spend the majority of the day trying to figure out what terrible thing was about to happen? Financial failure, illness, or death of someone I love? I thought it was a warning, a sign from God, a premonition.  I didn’t know it was me.  Just me! Totally me! I learned that I don’t have to entertain every thought, every dreadful thought, which comes into my head. I can reject those thoughts and choose to think positive, lovely thoughts. In regards to a sign from God: His Word says that He has not given us a spirit of fear and that we should take every thought captive. Since I know that where the mind goes, the woman follows, I’m thinking lovely thoughts; thoughts of health, of prosperity, of goodness, kindness. Think on these things.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Published in: on March 14, 2011 at 12:18 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jodygrubbs.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/%e2%80%9cwhere-the-mind-goes-the-man-follows%e2%80%9d/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

