Oops! Attitude Check!

First of all:  It’s Sunday.  Sundays are good, right?  Right.  I love Sundays. 

Secondly:  I’m doing a study right now about negative thoughts and negative words. 

So, here’s how my story actually begins:        The alarm went off at 6:00 this morning because Brett had a 7 a.m. meeting.  What’s right about that?  But, I’m a positive thinker so I will stumble to the kitchen with my eyes closed to make coffee and have a few moments with my husband before he has to leave.  Good girl.  I have lots of time to get ready once he is gone but I have to arrive at the church at 8 a.m. because I am on Praise Team this month and we practice at 8:00.  Suddenly I realize I’m rushed.  No problem, I have short hair and I can do this and have a good attitude.

Whew!  I make it into my car with barely enough time to make the short drive to our church.  Turn on my positive thinking CD and I’m off when I realize I forgot my bible.  Oh, well, it’s all good!  I love Sundays.  For one tenth of one second I glanced down to put my glasses in my purse, (as if I would need to read something from my bible) and I hear a loud noise!  I just hit a mailbox!  How did that happen?  Now, I have a little temporary nausea and I check the mailbox.  Perfectly fine!  My car?  Not bad but my side mirror is shattered and hanging by an electrical wire slamming against the fender then the door, the fender then the door…..all the way to the church where Brett is standing outside awaiting my arrival.  Great!

Now, girls, you know just how I am feeling right about now.  I’m hoping he will feel sad that I’ve experienced such anguish and give me hug to comfort me.  That’s not what I got.  What I got was, “What were you doing?”, with a scornful look.  I felt like I was facing my dad all over again.  I wasn’t feeling the love and I wasn’t giving it, either.

With a little sweat on my brow but a smile on my face I went on in to practice – by now a little late.  Oh, by the way, I turned off the positive thinking CD immediately after encountering the sturdy and ever so stable mailbox. 

I love Sundays and this is just a blip on the screen.  It’s all okay.  Right up until the time one of the guys singing with us pointed out I had just sat on my glasses.  Yep, you got it!  Now I have a crippled car that needs a huge band aid and bifocals that cover one eye.  The guy that puts the words on the overhead screen is awesome.  Thanks, Brandon.  That got me through this morning.

On to Sunday School, Brett has chilled and loves me again, but I’m still thinking about my crippled car and how I will make all my appointments, a listing appointment today, a listing appointment tomorrow, showing houses, you know all the things a girl has to do and I can’t look good driving a bummed up car.  I can’t drive around town with my car looking so sad.  Sunday School lesson is on pride.  You know, being prideful.

I’m amazed every single day; the lessons I learn that I have been oblivious to for most of my life.  I was sick and mad when I hit that darn mailbox (which wasn’t in that same spot yesterday, btw) and I wanted to turn right around, go back home and pout.  I didn’t.  I continually checked my attitude with every turn and I am smiling as I am writing this.  It didn’t have to turn out this way.

I guess I’m still surprised that I can change the way I believe about things at this point in my life.  Like, I have always believed and even said, “I can’t help how I feel” or “I can’t help what I think.”  But now I know that isn’t true.  If I had a screen on my forehead so everyone could see all my thoughts, I would definitely be thinking on lovely things.  I didn’t go back home and go back to bed.  No, I pulled up my big girl panties and moved on. 

I do whole heartedly believe that the important thing is not what happens to us but how we react to what happens to us.  Attitude Check!  I love Sundays!

Published in: on August 9, 2010 at 3:19 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jodygrubbs.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/oops-attitude-check/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

