Choose JOY

You know how some days you stop to think at the end of the day and genuinely wonder, “Just what did I do today?”   Well, today wasn’t one of those days.  Today, I witnessed a miracle….maybe more than one.  Usually my blogs are about real estate but today wasn’t one of those days, either.  First of all, we spent the day at the hospital welcoming a new life into the world.  That would be our 10th grandbaby.  10 – yikes!  And before you get too far into that thought, if you are reading this and we don’t know each other, I find it necessary to say, I’m not really old enough for that but enjoying it, nevertheless.

Miracle #1 – Easton Joshua Grubbs.  Easton is a miracle in more than one way, on which I choose not to elaborate.  The fact that he made it here is miraculous!  Tiny and innocent, sweet and perfect.  A gift.  That would describe all the babies born into this world of every size, sex and color.   A tiny, innocent, sweet and perfect gift packaged into a beautiful little body for us as adults to care for, nurture, love and teach.

If that wasn’t eventful enough, I had tickets to and attended a women’s conference with the featured speaker, Priscilla Shirer who told a story about her mother requiring all her adult children to sort through all their own belongings and take them to their own homes or risk them being thrown out.  So, she parked herself in the attic and started through boxes.  Many had diaries or ledgers which she read through her life.  She noticed a common thread through every stage without exception.  Wishing it would hurry so she could get on to the next stage.

As I was thinking about the birth this morning and remembering when my own children were born, I realized that I have a lot in common with Priscilla. (Because of that, we are kind of on a 1st name basis.)  When I was a kid, I wanted to be a teenager; then I wanted to be married and have kids.  When I was pregnant I wanted it to be over; when my boys were babies, I wanted them to walk, then talk, then start school, sports, you get the idea.

I have a dear friend who once told me that when he was in his 20’s, he thought how tragic it would be to grow old with regret.  Come on, really?  Who does that?  In my 20’s, I never dreamed I would actually get old.  If I remember correctly, I was pretty much just concerned with getting the applesauce off the wall and the condition of my thighs.  Grow old?  Hmmm.  So, he said he decided to live his life so he wouldn’t grow old with regret.

My point is, as was Priscilla’s, there are treasures in every stage of life but most of us are sleepwalking through life hoping to wake up when this stage is over and we are on to the next one.  There’s good stuff in the hard stuff.  Remember “wax-on, wax-off” and all the work the kid had to do in The Karate Kid?  Remember he wasn’t just cleaning up the place, he was training but he didn’t comprehend that and he didn’t like it.  But when Mr. Miyagi threw a punch the kid deflected it every time.  The hard stuff equips us for the punches that are on the way.

“Surely the Lord was in this place, and I didn’t even know it”.  Genesis 28:16b

In whatever stage of life you are right now, remember, there’s good stuff in the hard stuff.   Enjoy your life everyday.  Choose joy.

Published in: on August 7, 2010 at 1:36 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jodygrubbs.wordpress.com/2010/08/07/choose-joy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I really needed this today! Thank you for taking the time to post. I love you.


Leave a Reply

