I’m a “Self-Help” Junkie

Since I am a “personal growth”,  “self- help”, book/CD junkie, I am currently listening to some CD’s in my car, (cause I am in my car most of the time) called “Choosing Forgiveness” by Nancy Leigh DeMoss.  They are enlightening in many ways and there was a great quote that really stuck with me and it went something like this:  “Unforgiveness is like drinking poison and hoping someone else will die.” Every single one of us has experienced, in our lifetime, some pain inflicted by another or regret over our own actions.  Continuing to refuse to forgive one who has caused us pain, keeps us imprisoned by our own choice – which causes us physical illness – which causes us to be angry or more negative – which causes more physical illness and the cycle continues.  I love the old saying, “if you do what you’ve always done, you get what you’ve always got.” Although the grammar is lacking, the sentiment is true.

Published in: on October 2, 2009 at 1:57 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

